THE SUSPENSE IS KILLING ME.
Drew her own blood hey – I suppose thats taking the rules literally.
Of course! She must have used the sword on herself before Codpiece could strike her, thereby drawing first blood and winning the battle!
…I should probably go to bed.
literally the first thing I thought of lol
She swung the bat…
It’s a Gibson EB-0! 1961 Model!
Now it’s all making sense! The horns are part of a MM robot trying to come through. Maybe “sense” isn’t the word I’m looking for.
*is now imagining Codpiece Guy screaming “Not The Face”*
Haha! That what I thought! 🙂
Blood is on her sword first. Winning by technicality.
Even if the blood is hers? Does that count? Or are the rules more of “First to bleed loses?”
Depends what the ref says
They weren’t specific about who had to draw blood and where. So like it or not, there’s a nice little loophole there that Prince Codpants didn’t consider.
I can’t imagine a duel being won like that. In a duel in our world, the seconds(Vargas, and I guess Jake) would be there to ensure the duelists remain honorable, since the main purpose of a duel is to settle a question of honor. Depending on the wording of the rules, drawing your own blood might technically be a win, but trying it would probably cause your opponent’s second to execute you, or both seconds would get involved and turn the relatively orderly duel into a four way free-for-all.
Yeess…. from the position of the blade, and the way her wrist is flexed, it looks like she has indeed turned the blade on herself. But does it count?
Prince: (laughs) Foolish child! That doesn’t count.
Marah: (stabs) That does, though!
Niiiiiiiiiiice. Yay loopholes!
Or of course if she actually got the prince … then she’s that much more awesome. Surprise attacks are almost as good as loopholes!
So the big question is, did she survive?
If she does, what new monstrous features will she develop?
Technically Correct: The best kind of correct…
Marah wins Face-ality 🙂
He can recognize it just from the handle.
I’m enjoying the suspense. That last panel actually made me “Sqee.”
She just slit her throat, didn’t she?
I came to the same conclusion.
I really, really hope not, but that looks like the position one’s hand would be in after they cut their own throat with a broken sword.
First blood usually means the first person who bleeds, loses. Ergo, bleeding yourself is like throwing the match. The match is still lost, you just controlled how you lose it.
I don’t think that’s how this one played out, is what I’m saying.
I think everybody is imagining her coming out with some clever, brave, and “technically correct” interpretation of the rules, but I have like 10 kinds of white knuckled hope that she just cut that mask off his smug face.
Dragul: Remind me to change that loophole to be the first to bleed loses not the first to draw blood.
the prince is going to need some serious dental work, and a serious face mask for a while.
Oh man I’m on the edge of my se-…..-I fell off!
Hell Yeah! Cut that stupid grin off of Mr. McCodiness Codpiece!!!!
Not the face!!!!
Seriously brutal though. The amount of blood on that blade given where it would have had to draw blood is gonna make for a really deep gash across your 5 senses coordinator.
The comic is going to be delayed as its creator, Jake is currently in the hospital and probably will remain there through the weekend. I know he wants to work on Modest Medusa and was certainly not planning to be away at such a crucial time but it was an emergency situation.
He is doing better last I heard but still requires a great deal of attention and care.
NAME — Get a Gravatar
Notify me of new posts by email.
©2011-2023 Jake Richmond | Layout by jaPoshi | Powered by WordPress with ComicPress
| Hosted on VisionMule | Subscribe: RSS
| Back to Top ↑